Los Angeles Child Molestation Attorney

Child molestation laws in California make it illegal for a person to engage in, or attempt to engage in, any sexual act with a minor who is under 18 years of age. A violation of California’s child molestation laws can result in misdemeanor or felony charges that carry severe penalties upon conviction. If you or somebody you love is facing these charges, contact Okabe & Haushalter as soon as possible. Our Los Angeles child molestation defense attorneys will get to work investigating every aspect of your case in an effort to get the charges reduced or dismissed altogether.

California laws regarding child molestation

Under California Penal Code Section 647.6, we will find that it is a crime to annoy or molest any child under the age of 18 OR to annoy or molest someone that you believe to be under the age of 18.

Both “annoy” and “molest” in this code mean that a person committed conduct that is likely to irritate, disturbed, or be observed by a child and that the conduct was committed because the perpetrator had a sexual interest in the child.

Penalties related to child molestation charges in Los Angeles

In California, child molestation is considered a “wobbler” offense. This means that it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances related to the case and the perpetrator’s prior criminal history.

  • Misdemeanor child molestation: A conviction of this charge will carry a sentence of 364 days in county jail and a fine of up to $5,000.
  • Felony child molestation: A person convicted of this charge can face up to three years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. A person could face felony child molestation charges in California if they entered an inhabited dwelling without the consent of the dwelling’s owners when the crime was committed. Additionally, if a person has a prior felony conviction for sex offenses involving a minor, additional child molestation charges will automatically become felony charges.

In most circumstances, the conviction of child molestation under California law will result in the perpetrator being required to register as a sex offender. This means that the convicted person will face stringent requirements about where they can live, work, or attend school. Registration on the sex offender list will result in a person’s name, address, photo, and charges being available to the public.

You can contact us for free consultation today

If you or somebody you love has been accused of child molestation in the Los Angeles area, your first phone call needs to be to a skilled and experienced attorney. At Okabe & Haushalter, we are standing by and ready to help you through this. Our knowledgeable Los Angeles child molestation attorneys have vast experience providing a vigorous defense for people in situations just like this. Our goal is to get these charges against you reduced or even dismissed so you can get back to living your life. You can contact us for a free consultation of your case today by clicking here or calling 310-430-7799.